Swansea University International Dylan Thomas Prize 2019 longlist announced

The Dylan Thomas Prize 2019, longlist was announced by annual Swansea University International. The award, named for the Welsh writer and poet, is given to writers under the age of 39 for literary works written in English, in a wide variety of forms: poetry, prose, short story collections, novels, novellas, and screenplays. The shortlist will be announced in April and the winning author will be awarded the £30,000 prize on May 16. The longlist is below, with titles linked to their Booklist reviews when available.


Eye Level, by Jenny Xie

Folk, by Zoe Gilbert

Friday Black, by Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah

Hold, Michael Donkor

House of Stone, by Novuyo Rosa Tshuma

How the Light Gets In, by Clare Fisher

In Our Mad and Furious City, by Guy Gunaratne

Melmoth, by Sarah Perry

Normal People, Sally Rooney

Soho, by Richard Scott

Peach, by Emma Glass

Trinity, by Louisa Hall

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *